How to Skip the Meat and Eat Vegetarian at Pizza Hut
Pizza Hut: It’s one of the classic fast-food chains that all Americans know, and some Americans love. But, just like other famous fast-food restaurants, Pizza Hut is well-known for serving meat. If you check out Pizza Hut’s menu, you’ll quickly notice that most of their signature pizzas contain pepperoni, sausage, or pork, with one of their most popular pizzas being a “Meat Lover’s Pizza.” So how can someone who doesn’t eat meat still enjoy a tasty pizza at one of the most popular food chains in the country? Let’s break down how you can eat both Pizza Hut pizzas and other pizzas while sticking to a vegetarian diet.
A common misconception about vegetarians is that they simply don’t like the taste of meat, which is why they choose to forgo it all together. Although this is true for some, many people stick to a vegetarian diet for ethical or health reasons. Tons of vegetarians actually still prefer and crave the taste of meat, and therefore, opt for vegetarian alternatives to meat when choosing a protein source for a meal. There are many vegetarian and vegan versions of pepperoni and sausage on the market, and at The Pizza Plant, we top both of our signature plantbased pizzas with delicious vegan meats.
But, what about Pizza Hut?
In 2020, Pizza Hut launched a test-run collaboration with Beyond Meat, and served Beyond Italian Sausage for a limited time at select locations. Unfortunately, Pizza Hut is no longer serving Beyond Meat at any of their locations, but we hope to see Pizza Hut re-launch vegetarian meats soon!
Although Beyond Italian Sausage is no longer available, there are other ways that you can eat vegetarian and plantbased at Pizza Hut. If you head to their website, you’ll see that there is a “Veggie” tab when ordering, where you can choose from the “Ultimate Cheese Lover’s Pizza,” “Veggie Lover’s Pizza,” or “Create Your Own.” Both the classic cheese and Veggie Lover’s pizzas are vegetarian as is, and if you wanted to make them vegan, you could ask for no cheese. If you choose to create your own vegetarian pizza, you can customize your crust, cheese, and toppings (just stay away from the meats, of course.) It’s important to note that Pizza Hut does use the same equipment for vegetarian pizzas as they do for pizzas with meat and cheese, so if you’re a strict vegan or have allergies, you may want to stay away from Pizza Hut altogether.
If you’re looking for vegetarian-friendly pizzas that are healthier for you, contain tasty vegetarian meats, and are organic and scratch-made, check out The Pizza Plant. Our pizzas are 100% plantbased, better for both you and the planet, and mouth-wateringly good. Both our cheese and meat alternatives are dairy-free and vegan, meaning that you won’t have to worry about cross-contamination when diving into your delicious pizza.
For all The Pizza Plant grocery locations and to find one near you, visit our store locator page. To order nationwide shipping, visit our delivery page.
Remember to follow us on Instagram @thepizzaplantusa for drool-worthy pizza pics, perfect pizza pairings, new store distribution, and more!